SportsDaz Camogie Team of the Year

Darren Kelly, aka SportsDaz, runs a website which promotes ladies football and camogie, promoting both sports through his podcast.

Each year the SportsDaz Camogie Team of the Year voting is conducted and the team is voted in by the public.

This week we have had massive support across the week as we began with three of our players nominated – Helen O’Malley & Eleanor Harrison in the Forwards vote and Ava Lambert in the Midfielders section.

The competition was fierce in the forwards section with 48 players nominated including our own Helen O’Malley & Eleanor Harrison, unfortunately not progressing to the second round of voting – but a great achievement to be nominated.

Ava Lambert who was nominated in the 16 strong midfield vote, did get through the first round of voting and topped her section of vote on Day 3. On the final day of voting the top two midfielders, as voted by the public, would make it onto the team.

Ava took 29.9% of the vote and topped the poll. She made it succesfully onto the team along with Shauna Fallon from Roscommon – great to see two Connacht Camogie players represented.

Sports Daz Camogie Team of the Year 2021
  2. DERVLA HIGGINS – Galway
  3. NIAMH DONNELLY – Antrim
  4. SINÉAD FURLONG – Wexford
  5. AOIFE DUNNE – Wexford
  6. MARIA LYNN – Antrim
  8. AVA LAMBERT – Mayo
  9. SHAUNA FALLON – Roscommon
  10. AMY GAFFNEY – Meath
  11. KATIE NOLAN – Kilkenny
  12. AILIS NEVILLE – Wexford
  13. RÓISÍN McCORMICK – Antrim
  14. KATE WALL – Cork
  15. AOIFE SHAW – Derry

Thanks to all who shared, voted, and raised awareness of the vote and thanks to Darren Kelly of Sports Daz for nominating three of our players to be included.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: